The Alberta Beer Awards celebrate and promote excellence in beer produced in Alberta by small* Alberta-owned breweries.

The awards were created by the Alberta Small Brewers Association to provide constructive feedback to brewers. We believe that a focus on quality is crucial to the long-term growth and success of the industry in Alberta. Every beer entered receives written feedback on their product.

The Awards will recognize the province’s top beers in over 20 categories, as well as the amazing pubs, restaurants, stores, and people that make this industry thrive.

The Alberta Beer Awards judging process (February 16-18 at Blindman Brewing in Lacombe) was overseen by two Edmonton-based Master-ranked BJCP judges: Jason Foster, beer writer and educator at and Owen Kirkaldy, a veteran judge and judge educator. 

Awards will be handed out on March 6 at the Starlite Room in Edmonton, as the closing event for the 3rd Annual Alberta Craft Brewing Convention (ACBC).

The full entry guide can be found here.

*Small = less than 400,000 Annual Worldwide Production